Welcome to Road Trip to Freedom!

Hello and thank you for visiting my very first website of my own. I am actively learning how to build a website so thank you in advance for your patience.

My name is Ray. As of today (12/17/2017), I am 34 year old living in Las Vegas, NV. I am originally from Japan but met my husband, Scott, before graduating college in the States and ended up getting married here. Meeting him changed my lifestyle and also my priorities in life completely. He helped me get out of my comfort zone and taught me the beauty and fun of outdoor activities and travel in general. Although I always enjoyed traveling, doing so with your favorite person make it so much more fun and exciting! We especially enjoy road trips because they allow us to travel with our fur babies.

Growing up, I always thought I would be a career centered woman but turned out I was so wrong!

Las Vegas is a weird city, isn’t it? He makes decent money working 8 hours a day or less. He has a full time secure job that allows him a decent amount of flexibility. Sounds awesome, right? My only complaint is that he works swing shifts and gets off work very late. Currently, I have a job that requires me to start as early as 6 in the morning! I don’t even know my next week schedule until a few days prior to the start of the week. This is not working for us. We value our time together so having opposite schedules and having different days off are not allowing us the lifestyle we want. Right now, I wake up around midnight to eat dinner with him and catch up. Then I go back to bed to get a few more hours of sleep before waking up for work. This weird sleeping schedule is tough on my physical and mental health, as well. We can say “Hey, this is our life. Let’s deal with it.” or we can say “This should not be our life. We should do something about it!”

I have been always a saver but my husband was not.

My husband and I dated for a year before we got married. When we met, he just turned 27 and I just turned 22. Back then, he just got out of a small amount of credit card debt. I was very lucky to have parents who paid for all of my education so fortunately we started our life together with no debt. There was a time I enjoyed shopping as a young college kid but as soon as I started making my own money, I started to save. When I found out a saving plan called 401k, I did some research and found the Suze Orman show. She helped me realize the importance of financial planning for our future. I became this saving oriented wife thanks to her show but my husband was not…so much. So we have had countless arguments/fights for not being on the same page financially but we managed to figure out what works for us and we are still happily married and debt free!!

Our goal is…

Freedom! “Freedom” to us is lifestyle with no restrictions. Why do we need to wait to enjoy our life freely until we are much older? No one can guarantee you will have a nice healthy long retirement, right? Therefore, I need to build a different income source other than my regular work. My short-term goal is to make $3000 a month from affiliate marketing within a year, by the end of 2018. This way, I will be able to quit my normal job and will allow us to have more flexible lifestyle. With this website, I would like to record my journey to the freedom and hope all of us including the visitors here to reach our individual financial goal together.

I will be posting our current assets and affiliate marketing income as I go through this journey. Right now I am so new to this affiliate marketing business and currently making ZERO dollar!  I do not know anything about blogging or affiliate marketing. I am willing to learn from anyone who can teach me. I hope those who are like me will be able to learn from what I am doing, as well.

Please join me with this journey and together let’s achieve our own financial goal together!